5.4.2 Employment of MinorsFederal and state laws restrict child labor,
regulating the number of hours worked as well as the working conditions.
Any employer who hires a minor (under 18 years old) must keep a copy of
the minor's work permit on file. Employers must require minors to
present a work permit before allowing the minor to work. Students can
obtain work permits from the local school district (for public school
students) or their archdiocesan, parish, or private school. However, a minor who is 16 or 17 years old and has graduated
from high school is not required to show a work permit and may be
employed for the same hours as adults; evidence of high school
graduation must be kept on file.Ages 16 and 17A
minor can work only a restricted number of hours outside of school. A
minor can work for no more than four hours in any day on which the minor
is required to attend school. A minor who is at least 16 years old may
work up to eight hours on a day that precedes a non-school day. Minors
may not work more than eight hours in a day or more than 48 hours in six
days in a week. They may not work before 5:00 a.m. or after 10:00 p.m.
on an evening preceding a school day. A minor can work until 12:30 a.m.
during any evening preceding a non-school day.Ages 14 and 15 Employers
may not hire children under 14 years except in some agricultural jobs.
It is permissible to hire 14-year-old and 15-year-old minors. However,
there are some special restrictions for this age group. Minors aged 14
and 15 may not work more than three hours on any day in which the minor
is required to attend school, more than eight hours on a non-school day,
more than 18 hours in a school week, or more than 40 hours in a
non-school week. They may work only between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.
except during the summer (June 1 to Labor Day) when they are permitted
to work until 9:00 p.m.184.108.40.206 Minimum Wage for MinorsCalifornia
law requires minors to be paid the state minimum wage unless they
qualify as learners, who are defined as "employees during their first
160 hours of employment working in occupations in which they have no
previous similar or related experience. A learner may be of any age." Archdiocesan
policy requires that all employees of the Archdiocesan Catholic Center,
cemeteries, mortuaries, and parishes be paid at least the state minimum wage or the minimum wage in effect in the location's city or county.
Consult with the Human Resources Department before establishing a wage
rate for minors. For additional information, see the California Child Labor Laws pamphlet. See the Statement of Intent to Employ a Minor and Request for Work Permit and the Permit to Employ and Work.