Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

Print this topic

4.4.2 Religious Emblem Programs

​Religious emblem programs enable scouts and other youth to grow and learn to live their faith in everyday life.   These programs are designed to support and complement the catechetical efforts of parishes and schools. Upon successful completion of each program,a scout may wear the appropriate emblem, patch, or other insignia on the scout uniform.  A young person who is not a scout may wear the emblem as appropriate.  A religious emblems presentation Mass is held annually at the Cathedral for scouts; for young children the presentation may be held in the parish

Religious emblems are available to scouts regardless of whether their unit or troop has an affiliation with a Catholic parish or school.  Scout units or troops that are affiliated with a parish or school should encourage the scouts to complete the religious emblem programs. Scouts who are not Catholic should be encouraged to complete the religious emblems for their religious tradition.

​Boy Scouts:  The National Catholic Committee on Scouting (NCCS) Religious Emblem Programs are available to any scout who is registered in a Scouts BSA unit. They are coordinated locally by the Catholic Committee on Scouting for the Archdiocese of Los Angeles.

  • Light of Christ: designed for 6 or 7-year-old Cub Scouts

  • Parvuli Dei: designed for 8 to 10-year-old Cub Scouts

  • Ad Altare Dei: designed for 13 to 14-year-old scouts in a Scouts BSA Troop, Venturing Crew, or Sea Scout Ship

  • Pope Pius XII: designed for scouts who are 15-years-old or older in a Scouts BSA Troop, Venturing Crew, or Sea Scout Ship

  • Religious Activities: Seven NCCS Religious Activity Series are available: the Rosary Series, the Marian Series, the American Saint Series, the Modern Saint Series, the Faith Series, the International Series, and the Heritage Series. Participants earn patches upon completion of each activity. Each Religious Activities Series is available to scouts at all program levels, as well as any other youth or adult (scout or non-scout, Catholic or non-Catholic).

​Girl Scouts and Campfire Girls (and others): National Catholic Committee on Girl Scouts and Camp Fire (NCCGSCF) Religious Recognition Programs are used primarily by scouts who participate in Girl Scouts USA or Camp Fire USA; however, they are also available to scouts from other organizations (e.g. American Heritage Girls or Scouts BSA), as well as any non-scout who would benefit from these programs. They are coordinated locally by the Archdiocesan Catholic Committee on Girl Scouts and Camp Fire.

  • God is Love: for grades K-1

  • Family of God: for grades 2-3

  • I Live My Faith: for grades 4-5

  • Mary, the First Disciple: for grades 6-8

  • The Spirit Alive: for grades 9-10

  • Missio Dei: for grades 11-12

  • Our Catholic Faith patches: These series are designed for girls in grades 1-12. They include the Women in Scripture Series and the Models of Faith Series, as well as other special patches for Our Lady of Guadalupe and Our Lady of Fatima.

American Heritage Girls:  American Heritage Girls National Catholic Committee Catholic Faith Awards are available to scouts registered in an American Heritage Girls Troop.

  • God and My Family (Deus et Familia Mea): for Tenderheart scouts (age 6-9)

  • God and My Country (Deus et Patria Mea): for Explorer scouts (age 9-12)

  • God and My Community (Deus et Civita Mea): for Pioneer scouts (age 12-14)

  • Women of Integrity (Femina Integritatis): for Patriot scouts (age 14-18)

  • Religious patch program: This patch program includes the Religious Vocations Patch, the Our Lady of Fatima 100th Anniversary patch, and the Year of St. Joseph patch.​​