Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Sign In

Print this topic

​​The chairperson of the Safeguard the Children Committee​ is appointed by the pastor/administrator, high school principal, or other person in charge of the location. The Safeguard the Children Committee must include people who are not paid personnel, such as parents/guardians, volunteers, and other representative members of the parish or school community. 

The committee must also include the pastor/administrator, parish life director, or other person in charge of the location, as well as the principal, director of religious education/parish catechetical leader, youth minister, confirmation coordinator, and the VIRTUS® facilitator, if the parish or school has people in these positions. When possible, all committees are encouraged to include professionals in law enforcement, mental health, and other helping professions.

See the Archdiocese of Los Angeles Safeguard the Children Parish Committee Handbook.